WU Library – Datenbanken

All resources

ABI/Inform Global | T&I (ProQuest)

Major database for various topics in the fields of business and economics

Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCO)

Bibliographic database for the literature of social gerontology

AgeInfo

Bibliographic database of over 50,000 books articles and reports from the specialist collection on Social Gerontology held at the Centre for Policy on Ageing

AgeLine (EBSCO)

Bibliographic database for the literature of social gerontology

Aktienführer-Datenarchiv der UB Mannheim

The data archive comprises the Hoppenstedt Aktienführer data from 1976-2015 in CSV format and the digitized print editions of the Aktienführer (1953-1999) as well as its predecessor, the Saling's Börsenpapiere (1870-1942)

ALEX - Historische Rechts- und Gesetzestexte

Austrian legislation from 1780 on

Amadeus (Bureau van Dijk)

Comparable financial and business information on public and private companies across Europe

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students.

Arbeitsmarktdatenbank

Information about the Austrian labour market, based on raw data of the Main Association of Austrian Social Security Institutions and the Austrian Public Employment Service

ASSIA - Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ProQuest)

bibliographic references to journal articles, covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective

Audit Analytics

Data about accounting firms and audited publicly registered companies in US and Europe

How to get access
Access only available to WU staff and WU degree-program students. Creating an account is possible via Academic User Registration, using your WU e-mail address (ending with @wu.ac.at or @s.wu.ac.at). Alternative access via the WRDS platform.

Aurelia Neo (Bureau van Dijk)

Company database with information on approximately 440.000 companies in Austria

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students.

Balkan Insight

News, investigations, analyses, and interviews on economy, politics, and society of the Balkans

Beck-Online

German law including fulltext journals and books, jurisdiction and legislation

How to get access
Accessible for WU staff and WU students after creating a personal Beck account.

BiblioScout (vormals Verlag Österreich eLibrary)

Publications of Verlag Österreich

Bloomberg

Global current and historical financial information on individual equities, stock market indices, fixed-income securities, currencies, commodities, and futures. Company profiles and financial statements, analysts’ forecasts, news on financial markets.

How to get access
Bloomberg terminals are only available to WU staff and WU degree-program students. For licensing reasons, concurrently enrolled students (Mitbeleger*innen) are not eligible to use the service. Book a session online

Borderlex

News, commentaries and analyses of EU and international trade policies

Britannica Academic

Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica

Brockhaus Enzyklopädie Online

German encyclopaedia, contains about 300.000 entries

Cabell's Predatory Reports (vormals: Cabell's Blacklist)

Communication Abstracts (EBSCO)

Bibliographic database covering communication and mass media

Concurrences

Information on antitrust law and competition economics

Current Index to Statistics

Bibliographic index of statistical publications dating back to 1975

Datastream (via Eikon with Datastream)

Please note that Datastream has been integrated into the Thomson Reuters Eikon Platform! Current and historical financial market data and corporate financial statements and financial ratios.

How to get access
The Eikon with Datastream terminals are only available to WU staff and WU degree-program students. For licensing reasons, concurrently enrolled students (Mitbeleger/innen) are not eligible to use the service. Book a session online

Datenbanken des Umweltbundesamtes Dessau

References on environmental issues published by the German Federal Environment Agency

DRS - Deutsche Rechnungslegungs Standards

Accounting Standards adopted by the German Accounting Standards Board

Duden Sprachwissen

German reference works published by Duden

EBSCO Business Source Premier

Major database for various topics in the fields of business and economics

EconBiz

The portal EconBiz offers a search for economic literature and events

EconLit (EBSCO)

Database of the American Economic Association. Indexes economic literature from journals, books, collective volumes and working papers. Book reviews of the Journal of Economic Literature in full text

Eikon with Datastream

data, analytics, forecasts and news on financial markets

How to get access
The Eikon with Datastream terminals are only available to WU staff and WU degree-program students. For licensing reasons, concurrently enrolled students (Mitbeleger/innen) are not eligible to use the service. Book a session online

EIU Country Data

Macroeconomic indicators and forecasts for countries and groups of countries starting from 1980, including graphics

Emerald Management Xtra

This database provides access to more than 150 business and management journals in full text and indexes literature from additional 300 journals

ENDS Europe

European environmental news, analyses, interviews, opinion pieces and updates on EU laws, as well as reports on topical issues

ERIC Education Resources Information Center (ProQuest)

Indexes literature from journals and reports with a US focus in the field of education

EU Law Live

News and analyses about current EU legislation

EUR-Lex

European Union law including the Official Journal of the European Union and former CELEX

European Regional Database

Long time-series of selected economic indicators for European regions

How to get access
ERD data in the 2017 edition are available to academic staff and students of WU upon request. Please send an email to library@wu.ac.at

Eurostat Mikrodaten

Eurostat microdata files such as the EU-SILC Statistics on Income and Living Conditions, the Labour Force Survey - EU LFS and other surveys for empirical research

How to get access
WU has been recognized as a research entity by the European Commission, and WU faculty and PhD students via their supervisor may request access to Eurostat microdata. Consult the Eurostat Microdata Website and contact e-resources@wu.ac.at for more information

EU-SILC

EU Statistics on Income and Living Conditions. See entry on Eurostat Mikrodaten

Factiva

World wide news from daily newspapers, magazines and other news sources, and business information, company data and financial market information

FASB Accounting Standards Codification

Accounting standards of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB)

Findok - Die Finanzdokumentation

Information on finance and law of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Finance

FIS Bildung

Indexes literature from Scientific journals, books and gray literature in the filed of education

Gabler Wirtschaftslexikon

Online version of Gabler's business and economics encyclopaedia

Gallup Analytics

Worldwide and US-American public opinion data

GEODOK

Database indexing geographical literature

Global Data Explorer (vormals MarketLine Advantage)

Worldwide information about industries, markets, companies and countries

Global Financial Data - GFD Finaeon

Global Financial Data provides economic and financial time-series with a deep historical backfile and coverage of 200 global markets. Available to WU students, faculty and staff. Access and registration only via the WU network.

How to get access
GFD is available only to WU employees and degree program students. Users need to create an account on the GFD Finaneon platform using their @wu.ac.at or @s.wu.ac.at email address. First time registration and access are enabled only within the WU network.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)

Abstracting and indexing database covering all aspects of human impact to the environment

HeinOnline

Access to Anglo-American law journals (Law Journal Library) and to various core collections covering Common Law jurisdiction

History of Economic Thought

Primary and secondary sources (full books, chapters, journal articles, essays) on the history of economic thought from 1700 to 1914

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 19th/20th Century (ProQuest)

Comprehensive archive of records of Great Britain and the former Colonies

IBFD Tax Research Platform (vormals: European Taxation Database)

tax systems and tax research topics

IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)

Includes bibliographic information from an international selection of publications in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology

IEA Statistics

Statistical data and reports of the International Energy Agency

IEEE Computer Society Digital Library

Provides access to IEEE society magazines and transactions and more than 2.700 conference publications in the field of computer sciences.

IMD World Competitiveness Online

Competitiveness ranking and country profiles for 61 countries

IMF eLibrary

Contains all International Monetary Fund publications: books, periodicals, reports, and statistical data

Integrum World Wide

Online portal, updated daily, covering Russian and CIS countries national and regional newspapers and magazines, statistics, official publications and more

How to get access
Password-protected resource. For access please ask at the Library Information desk (Central Library, building LC, level 2).

International Country Risk Guide - ICRG Researchers Dataset Tables 3B/4B/5B

Political, financial and economic risk ratings for 140 countries

How to get access
ICRG Researchers Dataset Tables 3B/4B/5B are only available to current WU students, faculty and staff of WU. To receive the dataset, please write to library@wu.ac.at

International Statistical Yearbook

Statistical data from Eurostat, OECD, UNIDO, IMF, Deutsche Bundesbank, German Federal Statistical Office, DIW

Investor-State LawGuide

Database for international investment treaty law and related arbitration materials.

JSTOR

Business Collections I - IV and Mathematics & Statistics Collection of JSTOR, a digital library of academic journals

Juris

German legal information including literature, jurisdiction and legislation

Kluwer Arbitration

Platform for international arbitration

KMU Forschung Austria

Detailed reports from industries of small and medium size enterprises in Austria as well as economic performance reports and balance sheet information; Balance Sheet Database, Economic Performance Database, Observer Database and Structural Database

How to get access
The WU Library will cover a limited amount of the costs for data requests by WU students or staff writing research papers, dissertations, diploma theses or master’s theses at WU. For more information, please contact: library@wu.ac.at

Langenscheidt Online-Wörterbücher

General and specialist dictionaries

Leisure Tourism Database

Bibliographic database, indexes academic books, journals and conference proceedings in the fields of leisure, tourism, recreation and hospitality

Lexis 360 (vormals LexisNexis Online Österreich)

Austrian literature, law and jurisdiction, especially tax law

How to get access
Accessible only for WU staff and WU students via WU login credentials (including remote access)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (EBSCO)

Abstracting and indexing database for library and information science

LinDa - Die Linde Recherchedatenbank (vormals Linde Digital)

Legal information from publisher Linde

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff, remote access for WU students via WU login credentials.

MarketLine Advantage

Worldwide information about industries, markets, companies and countries. Upgraded to new database Global Data Explorer in January 2024!

Media Intelligence Center

North American media data and analytics, providing print and digital media data

Merriam-Webster Unabridged

Dictionary of American English

MLA international Bibliography (EBSCO)

Bibliographic database of the Modern Language Association, indexes journals and books in the fields of literature and linguistics

MSCI ESG Ratings Time Series - Equities

ESG sustainability ratings time series for constituent companies of various MSCI equity indices

How to get access
Access only available to WU staff and WU degree-program students, after sending an email to: library@wu.ac.at. Use your WU email address, Subject „MSCI ESG Ratings Time Series Access“

Munzinger Länder

Most important facts about all countries and international organizations

Munzinger Personen - Internationales Biographisches Archiv

brief biographies of important personalities of the of the 20th and 21st century

Nexis Uni (vormals Nexis Academic)

International news, legal and business information especially from the Anglo-American region

NWB Steuern International

Information on international tax issues

OECD iLibrary

OECD publications: books, periodicals, reports and statistical data

ÖBL - Österreichisches Biographisches Lexikon

Austrian biographical encyclopedia

ÖHB - Österreichische Historische Bibliographie

Documentation of Austrian research on history

Orbis (Bureau van Dijk)

Information and data for public and private companies worldwide, including company financials, financial strength indicators, contacts, detailed corporate structures, M&A transactions

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students. Datasets from Orbis can be also be extracted from any location via the platform WRDS after registration.

Orbis Bank Focus (Bureau van Dijk)

Information on banks worldwide, including financial data, with 5 years history for listed banks and 3 years for unlisted

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students.

Orbis Crossborder Investment (Bureau van Dijk)

Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) database, covering Greenfield FDI projects and M&A at company-level

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students.

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Largest dictionary of any language in the world, charts the meaning and evolution of over 600,000 words over the last 1500 years

Panjiva Supply Chain Intelligence (S&P)

Detailed trade and company data for container shipping, with focus on the United States and selected countries in Central and South America and Asia, global aggregated trade data

How to get access
Available only for WU staff and students, after setting up a personal account. To request an account, send an email to : library@wu.ac.at. After receiving the access credentials, the database can be used from any location without the need for a VPN connection.

Passport - Euromonitor International (vormals GMID)

Statistics and reports on markets, industries, countries and companies

PressReader

Online portal, updated daily, with 5.000 newspapers and magazines from 100 countries in 50 languages

PsycArticles (EBSCO)

A full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more

PSYNDEX Literature with PSYNDEX Tests (EBSCO)

Bibliographic database, indexing articles in academic journals, books, collective volume articles, research literature, and audio-visual media in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Psychological tests

PTSDpubs (vormals PILOTS) (ProQuest)

Bibliographic database, covering worldwide literature on mental health consequences of exposure to traumatic events

PubMed

Bibliographic database in the field of medicine and related areas

RDB Rechtsdatenbank

Austrian legal literature, jurisdiction and legislation

How to get access
Accessible for WU staff and WU students via WU login credentials

Retail Insight (vormals PlanetRetail)

Analyses, news and data concerning retail companies worldwide

RIDA - Rechts-Index-Datenbank

Austrian law database with literature and jurisdiction as well as unpublished decisions

RIS Rechtsinformationssystem des Bundes

Austrian law database with literature and jurisdiction as well as unpublished decisions

Sabina (Bureau van Dijk)

Information on companies in Austria, including company financials and annual accounts in a detailed format, with up to 10 years of history

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students.

Das Schweizer Arbeitsrecht

Comments and jurisdication on Swiss labor law

Scopus

abstract and citation database of academic literature

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)

Indexes international literature in the fields of social work and social Services

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)

Bibliographic database in the field of sociology

Sociology Database (ProQuest)

full-text of scholarly journals in sociology, social work and related fields

S&P Capital IQ

Company Profiles and financial data of public and important privat companies worldwide, ownership, capital structure, corporate transactions and industry overviews

How to get access
Capital IQ is available only to WU employees and degree program students. Users need to create an account on the S&P Capital IQ Platform using their @wu.ac.at or @s.wu.ac.at email address.

S&P Capital IQ Pro - Energy

Data, news, and analytics on power plants, renewable energy, and natural gas projects across the North America and Europe, plus the global oil and gas landscape

How to get access
The Database is available only to WU employees and degree program students. Users need to create an account on the platform S&P Capital IQ Pro (before rebranding in August 2021: S&P Global Market Intelligence), using their wu.ac.at email address. First time registration and access are enabled only within the WU network. Off campus remote access for authorized users via VPN.

S&P Capital IQ Pro - Financial Institutions (vormals SNL Financial)

Financial data, news and analysis on Banking, Insurance, Financial Services

How to get access
The Database is available only to WU employees and degree program students. Users need to create an account on the platform S&P Capital IQ Pro (until rebranding in August 2021: S&P Global Market Intelligence), using their wu.ac.at email address. First time registration and access are enabled only within the WU network. Off campus remote access for authorized users via VPN. SNL Financial Institutions & Bank Data are also available via the WRDS platform.

S&P Capital IQ Pro - Metals and Mining

Company and property-level data for the global metals and mining industry

How to get access
The Database is available only to WU employees and degree program students. Users need to create an account on the platform S&P Capital IQ Pro(before rebranding in August 2021: S&P Global Market Intelligence) using their wu.ac.at email address. First time registration and access are enabled only within the WU network. Off campus remote access for authorized users via VPN.

SSRN Social Science Research Network

SSRN informs about working papers and articles in scholarly journals, covering all fields of social sciences

STATcube

STATcube Statistics Austrias statistical database serves to provide comprehensive statistical data

How to get access
Subscription-based full access [ABO] to STATcube is only available at the Library Information, Level 2, Building LC. To make an appointment, please send an email to: library@wu.ac.at.

Statista

Statista is a German online statistics portal which provides access to economic and social statistical data from national government institutions, international organizations as well as market and opinion research institutions.

Supply Chain Analysis

Cases, news, company and industry reports, etc. concerning the supply chain of fast-moving consumer goods

Sustainalytics

Environmental, social, and governance (ESG) risk ratings data on over 12,000 public and private companies

How to get access
Access only available to WU staff and WU degree-program students, via the WRDS platform or after sending an email to: library@wu.ac.at. Use your WU email address @s.wu.ac.at or @wu.ac.at and refer to required data: current and / or historical ESG Risk Ratings or historical ESG Ratings.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics

World's most extensive and authoritative reference resource in economics

The Lens

database containing patent information and abstracts and citations of academic literature

Thomson ONE

The content previously provided through the database Thomson One Investment Management is now available on the Thomson Reuters platform Eikon

TRAINS

Contains worldwide data on imports, tariffs and non-tariff measures, available at the most detailed commodity level

Transitions Online

High quality journalism from transition economies in Eastern, Central and South Eastern Europe

Transport

Bibliographic database indexing Journals, research literature and conference proceedings in the fields of transport and logistics

Ulrichsweb.com

International directory of periodicals and journals

UN COMTRADE Premium

International trade statistics which can be retrieved for trade partners at commodtiy level

How to get access
Free online access and free registration for access to the basic version with limited download functions. Premium version with bulk download only for WU staff and WU students, after setting up an user account with their own WU e-mail address (@wu.ac.at or @s.wu.ac.at).

Web of Science - ESI, JCR und SSCI

Since Janurary 1st 2022 access to Web of Science is no longer provided. The newly acquired access to the database Scopus allows research in about 85 million entries as well as using journal and author metrics.

Werbemittelarchiv Brand History „Professor Schweiger“, WU Wien

Collection of advertising media (advertisements, posters, television and radio spots etc.) from the beginning of the 20th century to the present

How to get access
The Brand History advertising archive can be accessed after completion of a Declaration of Use / Nutzungserklärung on site at the Library Information (Building LC - Central Library - Level 2) during opening hours . To make an appointment, please send an email to: library@wu.ac.at.

Westlaw International

Offers international legal information especially from the UK and the USA

Westlaw UK

Access to databases of case law, legislation, news, legal journals, commentary, current awareness alerts and EU legal materials

WIFO Wirtschaftsdaten

selected tables with Austrian and international economic statistical data; see also the English version

WIFO-Daten-System (WDS)

Information system jointly developed by WIFO and WSR which imports, homogenises and prepares a variety of national and international data sources

How to get access
Available to WU faculty and staff members on their workstation PC upon request. For further information please contact: library@wu.ac.at. Access for students and non-affiliated persons is available at the Library Information, Level 2, Building LC. To make an appointment, please send an email to: library@wu.ac.at.

wiiw - Database on Foreign Direct Investment

Data on Foreign Direct Investment activities related to countries in Central, East and Southeast Europe (CESEE)

wiiw - Handbook of Statistics

Key economic indicators on Central, East and Southeastern Europe

wiiw Industrial Database Eastern Europe (Archive)

Key economic indicators on East European transitional economics to analyze changing industrial Patterns (published until 2010)

wiiw Annual Database

Time series of key economic indicators for Central, East and Southeast European countries (CESEE)

wiiw Monthly Database

Monthly time series of leading economic indicators for countries in Central, East and Southeast Europe (CESEE)

Wirtschafts-Compass (vormals Firmen-Compass)

Information about Austrian companies

How to get access
The database is available on the computers in the library. Students of WU and WU staff may apply for a User ID in order to access the database from their workplace - please contact bibliothek@wu.ac.at.

How to get access
For access to this database, please send an email to: library@wu.ac.at

How to get access
Accessible on WU campus. Remote access for WU staff and until further notice for WU degree program students.